Tags

, , ,

It’s past 5am. I’ve posted already tonight, and as I settled in for night-owl reading, I received a lovely compliment from Anonywitch, who listed me as a favourite pagan blog and nominated me for the Liebster. Wow! It’s a huge compliment to me to think that somewhere in Massachusetts,  there’s a pagan interested in what I do here at the bottom of the world. That’s really cool.

I do love these little blog “awards”. Behind them an idea that I think demonstrates the internet at its best; people separated by huge space, sharing interests, ideas and building community. Since my plans for world domination are, shamefully, non-existent, I’m always completely chuffed whenever I get a “like” or a comment, or feature on someone’s reading list.

“Folks listed, your tasks are as follows: link back to this blog, list 11 facts about you, answer 11 questions, choose 11 other blogs with 200 followers or less, and ask them 11 new questions. That’s it. Yay building a blog community! Yay getting to know people on the interwebs!”

And the first thing that occurs to me is that actually, I think I have more than 200 followers. Err… I have almost twice that! That’s friggin’ amazing!  That there are almost 400 people (when did that happen?) who are interested in the spiritual nature of the merry ol’ Land of Oz, as detailed by an arguably very strange woman with a penchant for ranting, is… Interesting to say the least. Ha! But, I do like the fun facts section of such things, and gaining an insight into the wonderful strangeness that is “normality” for different folk the world over.

More than 11 “fun facts” can be found here. And as for Anonywitch’s questions…

What is one thing about you that people can’t tell just by looking at you? 
I think it should be mostly impossible to tell anything about anyone just by looking at them. But, obviously, you couldn’t tell I have a younger sister, who is awesome.

What’s your favourite dessert?
Dessert is my favourite dessert, and often dessert is my favourite dinner.

How do you wake up in the morning?
I wake up to a lot of teeth. Many, many teeth. I like to think that all those teeth are just happy to hear me stir, or to see me first thing, solidifying the bonds of the pack after a long night’s sleep. Only, they’ve been there the whole time, and mostly they just want to go outside and lack the opposable thumbs to open the door for themselves.

Who do you think has the most potential to fix the world: politicians, activists, or regular folks (or none of the above)?
I think that activists and politicians are regular folk. Only many politicians seem increasingly to be their own breed. I have great faith in humanity. I also think that faith is blind stupidity a lot of the time.

Which book has most changed your life and how?
Oh, that’s a tough one, but I immediately think of reading George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-four when I was a teenager at school, and that was pretty hardcore. Especially followed by William Golding’s Lord of the Flies. That was an intense week.

Whom do you admire? Why?
The person I admire most has to be my Mum, the Oracle and the Bird Whisperer. She’s political, an activist, a community leader, an awesome Mum and Grandma, all class, smart, wicked sense of humour, and if I turn out to be half the woman she is, I’ll be well chuffed.

Pluto - 'Playful Pluto' (1934)

Pluto – ‘Playful Pluto’ (1934)

What fictional character are you most like?
Pluto. Though, I’d like to think some weird combination of Elizabeth Bennett, Buffy, and Éowyn, with a dash of Konstantin Levin… But I think probably Pluto.

Tell me about your tattoos. If you don’t have any, what tattoo(s) would you like to get?
I don’t have any tats, and have no plans on getting any. I’ve thought about it. Lots of times. And I think I’m pretty sure what I would get if I decided to do it. A wolf, an owl, a few bindrunes…

What do you find beautiful?
So, so, so many things. The list tonight would include, The Milky Way, my little dog asleep on the lounge (finally), the Venus figurines from my last post, the smell of boronia oil in the oil burner, the way the candlelight is flickering on my Freyja icon, and the concept of Dadirri which I’ve been reading about and hope to post more on soon.

What is your signature dish? (Something you actually can and do make.)
I make a mean Swedish meatball, and a fabulous coleslaw. And I’ve just learned my Grandma’s apple cake recipe.

How do you channel your creativity?
I’m such a frustrated artist. I write a lot of poetry, mostly as an outlet for myself. I love painting, even just abstract colour on canvas, because really that’s the extent of my ability, but I find it to be awesomely therapeutic, anything like that, colouring, crayons, just randomness. But mostly I channel that urge into making ritual tools, writing ritual, incantation and invocations. I love writing, that is the visual art of writing, and do spend time practising calligraphy, especially when it comes to things dedicated to my Spirits.

Liebster AwardTop Blogs
Laura LeFey
Book Of Eucalypt
The Jackal, Stag, and Crescent
The Land, Sea, & Sky
The Poet Priestess
Waldeinsamkeit
under the tea tree
Druids Down Under
Wicc_artifact
The Existential Astrologer
Sung Points (also by Asha Maria of The Existential Astrologer, but a great blog!)

If I could ask anything…
I know that some of my blog choices are actually the same as Anonywith’s. Great minds? Lol! But for those who choose to play along…
1. Why do you blog about what you do? Where does inspiration or impetus to share your spiritual life in this manner come from?
2. What is your favourite thing about where you live?
3. What is your most treasured possession?
4. Which do you prefer for yourself? Burial, cremation, or donation to medical research?
5. What song did you last listen to?
6. What’s your favourite artform, and why?
7. What is the worst book you ever read?
8. Do you have a favourite type of plant? And if so, why do you love it?
9. Pencil or pen?
10. You get a free trip to spend a week anywhere in the world. Where do you go? What do you do?
11. Do you have a favourite language? Whether or not you speak it.

And that’s it. A few titbits more about yours truly, some excellent reads, and some inspiration for your next post. Blog on, good people!

 

